The Reasons for Performance

The Reasons for Performance

Copper technology

Copper was discovered nearly 7000 years ago and the first mines were operated on the Cyprus island, which gives its name to the metal. Fifteen centuries before Christ, the Phoenicians, seamen and trader people, had a major technological advantage in boat construction. One of their innovations comprised fixing copper plates on hulls to protect them and improve their manoeuvrability.

It is also said that a few centuries later, Nelson won the Battle of Trafalgar owing to this type of cladding, which enabled his boats to be faster than those of the French fleet, which was not equipped with this technology and was handicapped by the colonies of molluscs on its exterior hulls.

The principle lies at the level of the copper atom, which releases ions that paralyse the respiratory system of microorganisms and destroys them. Then, oxidation transforms the state of the copper, which end up scattering and moves on to becoming a new atom, and so on and so forth...

Needless to say, we are talking about extremely low quantities of dispersed copper, since the average leaching rate of the M300 is about 4.5 µg/cm2/day. This means that, in order to “exhaust" the M300 on an area of 1cm2, with the coverage ratio of 450g/m2 allowed by a standard kit, it should take an average of 27 years.

 

A non-conductive composite

The specific hybrid resin polyester that structures the M300, when combined with the hardener, creates an encapsulation of the copper particles that insulates the "grains" from each other and facilitates a high adhesion to the frame. Owing to the resin between the copper particles, the electrical conduction is stopped, thus leaving no room for any phenomenon of electrolysis.

Les Raisons de la Performance

Les Raisons de la Performance

La technologie Cuivre

Le cuivre a été découvert il y a près de 7000 ans et les premières mines furent exploitées sur l'ile de Chypre, qui donna son nom au métal. Quinze siècles avant J.C, les phéniciens, peuple de marins et commerçants, possédaient une grande avance technologique dans la construction de bateaux. L'une de leurs innovations consista à fixer des plaques de cuivre sur les carènes pour les protéger et améliorer leur manoeuvrabilité...

Il se dit également que, des siècles plus tard, Nelson aurait remporté la bataille de Trafalgar grâce à ce type de parement, qui rendit ses bateaux bien plus rapides que la flotte française, dépourvue de cette technologie, et handicapée par les colonies de mollusque sur ses coques...

Le principe se joue au niveau de l'atome de cuivre, qui libère des ions qui paralysent le système respiratoire des micro-organismes et les tuent. Puis l'oxydation transforme l'état du cuivre qui finit par se disperser et laisser place à un nouvel atome, et ainsi de suite...

Nous parlons évidemment de quantités extrêmement faibles de cuivre dispersé, puisque le taux de lixiviation du M300 ("leach rate") moyen est de l'ordre de 4,5 µg/cm2/jour.

 

Un composite non conducteur

La résine polyester hybride spécifique qui structure le M300, associée au durcisseur, crée une encapsulation des particules de cuivre qui isole les "grains" les uns des autres et permet leur grande adhérence au support. Le fait qu'il existe de la résine entre les particules de cuivre empêche la conduction électrique et réduit le risque d'électrolyse. Il convient de respecter les précautions d'application décrites dans la fiche technique.

 

 

Commander les Produits M300